Auburn vs Oregon: High Scoring Teams with a chance to make StatHistory

By Tex Noel, SEC SPortsFans.com StatHistorian

The SEC and the Pac-10; two super conferences met head-on to determine the Bowl Subdivision's National Champion.

Auburn vs Oregon both know how to put points on the scoreboard; and are within a combined 104 points from being the highest scoring pair of teams to meet for the crown—at the sport's highest level.

The down-to-the wire 2006 Rose Bowl which pitted No. 1 Texas meeting and defeating second ranked USC, 41-38 on an electrifying run by the Longhorns' Vince Young; saw these two team combine for 1290 points over the course of the 2005 campaign.

This year's titlist has combined for 1147 points—with the BCS Championship Game to increase the total.

Two other times a team that was later deemed "No.1" has the played a team in a bowl game—with both teams scoring over 500 points and combined for over 1000 points.

The first was in 1995 when Nebraska and Florida met; as the Huskers out-scored the Gators 65-24; combined for 1174 points.

The other time came in the 2004 Sugar Bowl (2003 season) Oklahoma-LSU, in a relative low scoring contest—compared to what both had done all season [LSU winning 21-14]—combined for 1107 points.

This year's BCS Championship Game will pitt the SEC vs the PAC-10; the first time these two conferences have met for the title...sort of...at least in the AP-Era, since 1936,

The Pac-10, as we know it today, following early expansion and names changes was formed in 1916. Seventeen years later many of the teams from the old Southern Conference formed what is now known as the SEC. Several schools that would become a part of the SEC and what is now the Pac-10 have met in deciding the National Championship based on the selections found in the *Official NCAA Records Book*.

The games played—all in the Rose Bowl—between 1925-1931, saw the teams that would become part of the SEC win three games; the *Pac-10* once, with one contest ending in a tie; and by the sources of the day, both teams were recognized as National Champion.

These games include:

- 1925—Alabama defeated Washington, 20-19
- 1926—Alabama and Stanford, tied 7-7
- 1928—Georgia Tech held-on to defeat California, 8-7*
- 1931—USC stopped Tulane, 21-12.

*This was the game when Georgia Tech's Roy Riegeils got turned around and headed towards his own end zone; forever known as "Wrong Way Riegeils."

The 2011 BCS National Championship Game will be a first for teams of the current conference aliments; and this will change for the 2011 season as the Pac-10 becomes the Pac-12.

Regardless which team comes out on top, both teams have had a highly-successful season; one that will make their respective marks in school and college football histories for some time to come.

So, hold onto your seats; buckle-up and enjoy the ride as these two teams should provide enough fast-pace action and memories.